The only official magazine of The Cleaning Show

Staffordshire County Council scoops top LOY Awards prize

Published 18th December, 2012 by Neil Nixon

Staffordshire County Council scoops top LOY Awards prize

Staffordshire County Council has won the UK Overall Winners Trophy at the 25th anniversary Loo of the Year Awards event, held on Friday 7 December. Awards managing director, Mike Bone, said: “For the second year running a county council has deservedly won the top award. Staffordshire County Council places significant importance on the provision of first class toilets and their entries were toilets in council buildings including schools, fire stations, youth centres, libraries and even the County Building in Stafford - not public toilets.”

Leading toilet providers recognise the importance of meeting this basic human need and entries for Loo of the Year Awards grew in 2012. The Awards recognise and reward the very best in ‘away from home’ toilets, including public toilets, and are the standard to which toilet providers aspire. This independent assessment is valued, particularly by third party providers, cleaning companies, FM companies and other entrants from all private and public business sectors.

Other major UK Trophy winners included JD Wetherspoon, Aberdeenshire Council, McDonald’s, East Lothian Council, Eurotunnel, Angus Council, Highland Council, Ceredigion County Council, the Trafford Centre and Asda - City Facilities Management.

Over 350 guests attended the awards presentation event at the St Johns Hotel, Solihull. Comedy was provided by TV and stage comedienne Shappi Khorsandi as the after lunch entertainment.

New for 2012, the Lepicol Home Throne Award was won by the High Seas Hobbit Toilet in Frazerburgh, north Scotland. The winning ‘home’ toilets entry is a modern toilet inside a whisky barrel! The award was presented by ITV and BBC Radio 2 doctor, Hilary Jones.

The 2012 Awards were run in association with headline sponsor Lepicol and associate sponsors The Changing Places Consortium and Clos-o-Mat. The four national tourism bodies - Visit England, Visit Scotland, Visit Wales and The Northern Ireland Tourist Board - Danfo, Healthmatic, SCA Tork, Soluclean and Willings Services supported this year’s awards.

The next Loo of the Year Awards event will be held on 6 December 2013 at the St Johns Hotel, Solihull.

Full details of the 2012 awards results are available at:

Article links