The only official magazine of The Cleaning Show

Loo of the Year Awards announced

Published 13th February, 2014 by Neil Nixon

Loo of the Year Awards announced

Brighton and Hove City Council was delighted to win the UK Overall Winners Trophy at the Loo of the Year Awards annual presentation event last December.

Awards managing director, Mike Bone, said: “For the third year running a council has deservedly won the top award. Brighton and Hove City Council places significant importance on the provision of a range of public toilets that meet the needs of all types of users including Changing Places Toilets. Although not all new, the toilets are cleaned and maintained to a high standard and provide much needed facilities throughout the city, vital to residents and visitors.”

Leading toilet providers recognise the importance of meeting this basic human need and entries for the Loo of the Year Awards remain at high levels. The awards recognise and reward the very best in 'away from home' toilets, including public toilets and are the standard to which toilet providers aspire. This independent assessment is valued, particularly by third party providers, cleaning companies, FM companies and other entrants from all private and public business sectors.

Other major UK Trophy Winners included Asda, Ceredigion County Council, City Facilities Management, Danfo UK, GBM Support Services, Harrogate Borough Council, Hastings Borough Council, Highland Council, McDonalds, TC Facilities Management and J D Wetherspoon.

The 2013 awards were run in association with sponsors Clos-o-Mat, Ophardt and TWC. The four national tourism bodies - Visit England, Visit Scotland, Visit Wales and The Northern Ireland Tourist Board - also supported the awards, as did Airdri, Danfo, Bonasystems, Lepicol, SCA Tork, and Willings Services.

Full details of the 2013 Awards results are available on the awards website:

The 2013 Loo of the Year Awards Lifetime Achievement Award was also presented to Richard Chisnell who created Loo of the Year Awards in 1987. Chisnell spent nearly 40 years promoting and improving washrooms and washroom services. The British Toilet Association was also founded by Chisnell in 1999 and he campaigned for and influenced washroom standards throughout the UK until his retirement as director of BTA and managing director of Loo of the Year Awards in March 2008, when Mike Bone succeeded him.

The 2014 Loo of the Year Awards event will be held on 5 December 2014.

Article links