The only official magazine of The Cleaning Show

British Safety Council launches 2014 safety awards

Published 28th November, 2013 by Neil Nixon

British Safety Council launches 2014 safety awards

The British Safety Council has launched its 2014 International Safety Awards, which are designed to recognise an organisation's commitment to good health and safety management during the 2013 calendar year.

2014 will mark the 56th year of the International Safety Awards, which have made a significant contribution over that time to promoting and celebrating the benefits that well-managed and proportionate workplace health and safety bring.

The awards are open to organisations of all sizes and sectors, both members of the British Safety Council and non-members in the UK and overseas. Applications are welcome both from past winners and first time entrants - there is nothing to stop a first time entrant being successful if they can demonstrate clearly their commitment to good health and safety management in the application process.

Last year, 470 organisations from a wide range of industry sectors and countries won an International Safety Award, including Aston Martin Lagonda, Barclays, Bolton Wanderers Football Club, Delhi International Airport, Kier Construction, Kuwait Oil Company, Notting Hill Housing Group, United Biscuits, and the University of Edinburgh - to name but a few.

Alex Botha, British Safety Council chief executive, said: “Excellent health and safety management is good for people and good for business; it makes workplaces safer and healthier. Good health and safety is good business. The International Safety Awards recognise those organisations from around the globe that have shown a real commitment and dedication to keeping their workplaces and workers healthy and safe. By winning an International Safety Award, an organisation can enhance its reputation among employees, customers and shareholders, publicise its achievements in managing health and safety, and encourage other businesses around the world to strive to ensure that no one is injured or made ill at work.”

Applications are completed online, and must be completed by 21 February 2014. Results will be announced on 13 March 2014.

Article links