The only official magazine of The Cleaning Show

ABM receives top LOY Awards accolade

Published 18th January, 2018 by Neil Nixon

ABM receives top LOY Awards accolade

ABM was awarded the Overall Loo of the Year Award Trophy at the Loo of the Year Awards 30th anniversary event in December. This was the second time that a cleaning/FM company has achieved this top award and was in recognition of ABM, also in its 30th year, gaining a platinum award grade for 94% of its 34 entries and four national awards for Scotland. The company was also awarded the new Washroom Cleaner of the Year Award for England in the external contractor sector.

Awards managing director, Mike Bone, said: “ABM has entered the Loo of the Year Awards for several years, formerly as GBM, and has won many awards in the past 10 years. All of its 2017 entries were exceptionally clean and well maintained.”

Maureen Boyle, based at the South Pier Bangor public toilet, was awarded the new Washroom Cleaner of the Year - Individual Cleaner National Award for Ireland and the overall UK trophy. She has provided an excellent service at the South Pier toilets since they opened on 4 April 1994. JD Wetherspoon was presented with the In-House Cleaning Team trophy and ABM gained a second trophy - the External Contractor Team trophy.

A Plush Flush, a small and family owned mobile toilet provider, was awarded the Individual Categories trophy against strong competition from national companies, and other major UK and Ireland trophy winners included Asda, Gatwick Airport, McDonald’s, Oxford City Council, Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, Thames Water, JD Wetherspoon, and Wychavon District Council. The winners were selected from entries in 60 entry categories across all market sectors.

A new Washroom Service Provider award was won by Initial. The winner of this award was selected based on testimonials included in nominations from Loo of the Year Awards entrants.

Nearly 400 guests from throughout the UK, including representatives from leading cleaning and FM companies, attended the awards presentation event at the St Johns Hotel in Solihull. Terry Alderton provided comedy as the after-lunch entertainment and guests enjoyed the networking opportunities during the supplier exhibition that forms part of the annual event.

The 2017 awards were run in association with associate sponsors Clos-o-Mat, Dolphin Solutions, Dyson, Propelair, and Toilet Twinning. Leading suppliers Danfo, Deb, Eco Breeze, Evolve Security, Hygiene Vision, and Willings Services also supported this year’s awards.

Full details of the 2017 results are available on the awards website. The next Loo of the Year Awards event will be held on Friday 7 December 2018.