The only official magazine of The Cleaning Show

2016 Loo of the Year Awards launched

Published 13th April, 2016 by Neil Nixon

2016 Loo of the Year Awards launched

Many businesses pride themselves on the standard of cleaning and maintenance of the building they occupy or that they are responsible for cleaning. The most frequent place visited by most users of the building is the washrooms. First impressions count and high standards must be achieved consistently if the provider's - and the associated cleaning or FM company's - reputation is to be maintained.

How do service providers know how they compare with their competitors, and how do they gain recognition? Entry into the annual Loo of the Year Awards is a way of receiving an independent assessment of 'away from home' toilet provision and recognition of the standards achieved based on 'the toilet standard' for the UK.

Mike Bone, awards managing director, said: “Leading retailers, cafes, coffee shops, restaurants and pub chains, visitor attractions, holiday parks, shopping centres, local authorities, and, importantly, the cleaning and FM sector generally, recognise the annual Loo of the Year Awards as a proven, cost effective, and independent annual assessment of the standard of their toilet provision management. They receive proper recognition through our annual grading scheme. We Clean demonstrated in 2015 that a cleaning company can achieve the ultimate accolade by winning the overall Tork Loo of the Year Awards Trophy.”

Entries are now being received for the 2016 Loo of the Year Awards. There are thousands of toilets entered annually from all market sectors (there are 60 entry categories). Entries are invited from all categories and every entry receives an unannounced, dedicated, inspection visit. Entries gaining a bronze, silver, gold, or platinum award are presented with a certificate - to help promote their award winning facilities to their customers and staff.

There are a range of national and overall awards and trophies for the very best entries which will be presented at the awards presentation event on Friday 2 December at the St Johns Hotel in Solihull.
Anyone can enter online via the awards website: or by contacting The closing date for entries is 30 June.

Article links